Decorating Help!

This is the bedding we have:

Minus the extra frivolous pillows

(Sorry I don’t have a picture of ours. I have some pictures of the apartment that I need to post, but need to get a few more when my clothes aren’t all over.)

I actually really like it.

However, it’s a tad more boring than I realized. And after falling in love with a yellow and gray pillow at Target, I wish I would have gone with those colors.

But since I didn’t and I can’t go rebuying our comforter set, I have come up with a little project for myself. The room needs some color. However, we live in an apartment and can’t really go painting the walls an accent color or anything like that. (Oh, what I would do if we could paint…)

So, I would like to make a headboard. We don’t have one for our bed, and I’ve heard of other people doing it, so it at least seems like a feasible project.

As far as I can tell, I’ll get some plywood, put some sort of stuffing or filler so it looks a little more full, some fabric, and use a staple gun and put it all together. I have a feeling I am WAY oversimplifying this, so if you have done this or know how, I will appreciate any and all suggestions and tips.

I also need you help with the fabric. Because the bedding is tan and has straight lines, I’m not exactly sure what colors or designs will look good with it.

Here are the choices. I have my favorites, but just because they’re a favorite, doesn’t mean it will really look right. I’ll mark my favorites, but I could really use some input on what you think, or if you have some other ideas!

(All fabric samples came from joannfabrics.com)

Browns: (husband likes the idea of chocolate, but I’m afraid that will make the whole room some shade of brown and even more boring than it currently is.

(All fabric samples are from JoAnn Fabrics

#2

#1 Favorite

# 3

# 4 favorite

# 5 favorite

# 6 love, but not sure how it would work

# 7

# 8

# 9 really like

# 10

#11 Favorite

# 12

# 13

# 14

# 15

# 16

(Had issues getting these to line up next to each other, so this is super long. SORRY!)

So now it’s time for your help. What do you think? Which one do you think would look nice, while adding color? I numbered so it would be easier. Mr. A and I appreciate all help…sometimes we can’t quite visualize it until we see it.

11 Comments

Filed under Home Sweet Home, What to do?

11 responses to “Decorating Help!

  1. We have that same comforter in our guest bedroom! I tried to make that room a beachy theme because the brown reminded me of sand. Its not done yet, but I have a framed painting of a beach and a huge shell we got in Jamaica etc. For color I drew from a really muted pink from the shell to highlight- I think it looks nice. Make sure you post pictures of your finished product!

  2. Totally go with color to avoid having a brown and tan room. I think the yellow is nice, but I think a teal or orange might spice it up too.

    Don’t be afraid. Mix and match!

  3. My whole house is done in browns/tans! I completely understand your desire to spice things up with some color. Have you looked at the headboards on Ballard Designs? They remind me of what you’re looking to make. I love all the fabrics you picked. I can’t wait to see what you decide on! You have a do a post on your DIY project as soon as you’re finished!

  4. My vote is 1 and 12!!! Anything you do will look great, YOU just have to like it!

  5. I think I’d avoid the chocolate browns and spice it up with some color! My favorites are 4, 8, 13 and 14! In theory I love the blue damask because it’s beautiful and damask does still appeal to me, but take it from someone whose whole bedroom is in damask: It’s on its way out. It has been such a big trend that as soon as you invest the money, you will walk in one day not too long from now and say “Wow. This looks so 2008.” I’ve had a 100% black and white damask bedroom since 2007, so trust me on this one! I’d grab a couple of colorful bedside lamps, too! Miss Married has a set just like this and recently got blue lamps with white shades. That’s what I would do! Have fun decorating!

  6. ooooh. AND. if you are feeling really adventurous, you should pick one of those bold patterns and make a DIY headboard with it! Young House Love has a great tutorial that I have been dying to try, but haven’t worked up the courage yet!

  7. I have no opinion on fabric. I’m so bad at choosing them! But I have been saving links for my own headboard inspiration project. This seems like the simplest one – http://talenttoplay.blogspot.com/2008/05/works-for-me-wednesday-33-homemade.html. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  8. Pingback: Humble Abode « New Teacher. {finally} New Wife.

  9. That must be a popular bedding set; we considered it for our master, too. (We wound up going with all white. My entire house would be white if I could just get C to agree.) My favorites are #5 and #8, but I think for your purpose, I would try #13. It would add a punch of color, but it’s not so bright that it would look out of place. Also, the pattern will give the headboard some interest, but since it’s not too busy, you won’t get tired of looking at it.

    I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what you wind up going with. Keep us updated!

Leave a comment