Week One

Technically, I still have one more day tomorrow, but we’re close enough.

I was going to do just a first day post, but it, yet again, involved me making a complete idiot out of myself. And after the rolling down a winery hill incident, I wanted to give my ego a few days to recover.

Well, it’s about as recovered as it’s going to get.

Monday was my very first day. I was super prepared. I had made a PowerPoint and had handwritten notes and I had double checked to make sure I had enough copies of everything. I ironed my clothes the night before. Everything people do before their first day at a new job.

To begin the day, as I was getting ready to walk out the front door, I leaned over to pick up my purse and my pants completely split open. Like, waist to crotch along the seam. And I swear, the pants weren’t even tight. I had, no less than 10 minutes before, told Mr. A how the pants felt loser even after just wearing them the week before. I was not happy, but thankfully, there was a pair of khakis already ironed in my closet. Mortifying, but better at home than in class, right?

I teach at 8am and then at 9am. The classrooms are two doors away from each other. All good.

My first class went perfectly. I showed up to my room about 7:20 just because I wanted time to calm down and relax and not be rushing to get everything loaded up. There were students there BEFORE me. FOR AN 8AM CLASS. I took it as a good sign, and so far, it’s been right. They were friendly and, although a little sleepy, they laughed at my dumb teacher jokes and seemed willing to do what will be asked of them this semester.

I was on cloud 9. I was all full of confidence for class two.

Well, as you can imagine, this is the point in the story where it all goes downhill. (Luckily there were no literal hills for me to fall down or I’m sure I would have.)

I went into my second classroom. I logged onto the computer and was loading my PowerPoint. But the computer wouldn’t recognize my thumb drive. I was annoyed, but the ppt wasn’t crucial, so I was just going to say what was on the slides. I started writing on the board some of my other notes and things to cover.

Then, my fellow officemate and GA walks in. I thought he was just saying hello, but he then said that he thought the room was his classroom.

I checked my notes and told him that this was the room I was given. He left and i figured he had just looked at the wrong thing.

Nope. Turns out it was his classroom. They had switched classrooms and didn’t tell me.

I was embarrassed and annoyed because I had spent all this time setting up. I had given out my syllabus, but luckily the other GA just gave me his stack so I would have enough for my  real class.

I was scrambling to gather up all my stuff and get to my class since by now I was 5 minutes late.

The instructor’s podium is immediately in front of an emergency exit door. So as I was stepping out of the way so the other GA could get signed onto the computer, my butt BARELY tapped the bar and the door went flying open and causing all the emergency alarms to start going off.

Talk about embarrassing.

I was already frazzled from being in the wrong room and all of that and then to set off the alarms to half the building?! Mortifying.

Luckily, I was super prepared so as soon as I got to the right room, I was able to recover and just keep going.

I’m hoping this is the end of my embarrassing stories for a while.

But after the first day, this week has been amazing. I think I lucked out and ended up with some great kids in my classes. Or they haven’t shown their true colors yet. I’m thinking the latter.

My own classes that I am taking are going well. I like my professor and I think I am really going to enjoy the readings and such.

So, that’s been my week.

Hubs and I are having a date night tonight. Tomorrow, I am taking my friend from North Carolina to the fair and it is going to be hysterical. She is excited for fair food, mullets, and corn. Again, hilarious. I will definitely be telling you about that adventure.

5 Comments

Filed under A little More About Me, Grad School?, Teaching in College

5 responses to “Week One

  1. Oh my. This sounds like what would happen on MY first day of teaching. If something can go wrong around me, it usually does. But you got all the embarrassment over in the beginning and now the rest of the semester will be a piece of cake!

  2. Whew! Glad you made it through your first week! Hopefully that’s the only embarrassing story you have for the year! It’s not too bad! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad your first week went well! I can’t wait to hear how the rest of the semester goes. 🙂

  4. Ugh – reading this is giving me anxiety flashbacks to my teaching days! So glad that overall things went well. It will get easier!

  5. You are such a bad ass. Way to take that and roll with it!

Leave a Reply

