Making “New” Friends

While I’m writing this before my trip, by the time you read this, I will be in Other State and trying to find my way around one of the 5 largest metro areas. (Let’s see how many times I get lost or drive the wrong way on a one way street.)

Not only will I finally be seeing my husband after 3 and a half long weeks apart and getting to experience new restaurants and a new city and a new state and enjoy a little vacation away, but I will also be meeting some blog and twitter friends. 3 internet friends, to be precise.

EEEEEKKKK.

I am so very excited to meet these lovely ladies. I have been reading their blogs since I started this blog of my own. It feels like I have known them for a long time, but at the same time, I don’t know them.

Like me, they keep some things off the blogs and off of twitter. We all do. We all like to keep some things private. And even if I attempted to tell you all everything, it would be impossible.

So here I am, willingly going to meet 3 different women who I have never met before.

Sounds like the start of a horror film, doesn’t it?

Luckily, I have e-mailed and talked to them and I have decided that they are not serial killers or crazy people.

At least I don’t think so…

(Hi ladies. You know who you are. So excited!)

On Monday, I will be meeting up with one and her husband and some of their friends at a baseball game. Hubs and I both love baseball, so I figure it will be some common ground and will be fun. I think I’m less nervous than Mr. A. Poor guy is afraid he will embarrass me or something since these are people I have a connection to, and not him. He will be just fine. He’s good at talking to people. I’m not worried about him.

The other two ladies, we don’t have official plans, but one gets back from out of town on Monday and the other will be busy for the first few days, so once they get back and done with work stuff, we will figure it out.

I feel like I’m in grade school and trying to make new friends on the first day of class. What to wear. What to do. What to say. How to not look like an idiot. That might be the hard one.

Have any of you met up with internet friends? Any tips? Was it as awkward as I’m afraid it’s going to be?

(Girls, I swear I’m normal, I just get nervous meeting new people. Sorry!)

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Confessions, Freak Out Much?, Life After College, The Others

5 responses to “Making “New” Friends

  1. I would TOTALLY be the same way. I talked to an internet friend on the phone a few weeks ago and I was totally freaking out. I always wonder if the “real” me is the same as the “internet” me. I feel like it is, but I worry I’ll say something dumb or not be fun or something silly.

    I’m sure it will be fine, and you’ll have a ton of fun!

  2. Ana

    I have met 2 internet friends IRL. I have stayed at their houses, and all. No serial killers. I met them through LiveJournal (whoop, old school!) about 7 years ago. I live in Europe, they live in Canada and the US. Met the first one in Canada when I was there on holiday 6 years ago. Met for coffee and a walk and a chat, and it was like we had known eachother for a while. Met her the following day. The following year, she came over my side of the pond and stayed with me for 2 whole weeks. It was AWESOME.

    With my other friend, I, er, crashed on her floor for a few days when I was headed to the US on holiday 2 years ago. And it was AWESOME. Not awkward at all, just… bloody brilliant.

    Basically, am jealous you get to meet awesome people you’ve known.

    Also, this, I guess, is me popping out of the woodwork to say “Hi! Have been reading your blog for a while.”

  3. I have not met any blog friends, but I really want to! Given that we live very close to each other, maybe we set up a coffee date the next time you’re in town? I’d love to meet a few close blog friends, because I really do feel like I know them.

  4. I would be SWEATING. I love all my internet friends, but I have still never met a single one. well, I guess living in AK makes it kind of hard to really do much about this…

    Either way, you my friend are a brave, brave lady.

  5. What a fun weekend!!

    Hope everything lived up to your expectations – and that you have a great rest-of-the-trip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

