Flying Drama

When Mr. A went to Other State, he drove since he obviously would need his car and he had too much stuff to bring on a flight without baggage costing an arm and a leg.

But I have no desire to spend 11 hours in a car by myself. There’s no need to have two cars there, so obviously, I’m flying.

But here’s a secret:

I’m not a great flier.

I don’t like to fly. Not to the point where I won’t fly, but I don’t like it. I get incredibly antsy and nervous. I have an overactive imagination and it seems to kick into high gear as soon as I settle into my seat.

And takeoff is the worst part. I can’t listen to my ipod to zone out. I can’t read my Kindle. I just have to sit there. Add in the fact that I get headaches pretty easily and my ears pop like crazy, and it’s just not an enjoyable experience.

I usually have about 2 or 3 pieces of gum and I chew like a mad woman to keep the pressure from building up in my ears. I’ll take a couple Advil before the flight and hope that it keeps any potential headache away.

But even better, I usually have my husband with me. Or someone else to talk to. Last year, when we had to get on two different flights both ways to and from Mexico, Mr. A was great and would just hold my hand and make jokes.

But this time?

I’m alone.

No one to hold my hand. No one to tell me that it will all be okay. No one to make stupid jokes and point out the other goofy looking passengers.

I have flown alone before.

I was 10 and I flew back from Salt Lake City while my dad and his girlfriend went on to San Francisco. But this was pre 9/11 and my dad was actually allowed to walk on the plan with me and get me settled in my seat.

But I am a big girl now.

And I can do this.

It;s not like I’m having a panic attack or anything, just…anxious.

My plan is to get to the airport early, allowing me plenty of time to get through security and to find my terminal and gate and all that. I am then planning on going to one of the restaurants and having myself a drink in order to calm my nerves, maybe even take a short nap on the plane.

I’m planning on buying a magazine so I have something to occupy my mind. Luckily, I got into the first boarding group, so I get to pick my seat, which will be an aisle seat, hopefully in the exit row so I have a little more space.

This time tomorrow I will be sweating my butt off and exploring a new city. Now to not panic on the plane.

4 Comments

Filed under A little More About Me, Confessions, Freak Out Much?, Married Life, What to do?, WTF

4 responses to “Flying Drama

  1. Good luck! I don’t mind flying, but I get really nervous on long car trips. I wish I could apparate! 🙂

  2. i LOVE flying, which may make me a freak of nature. i’ve never been afraid of it and always grab a window seat so i can peer out into the clouds and dream (i’m a sap). i can’t read during takeoff/landing (motion sickness), so it gives me something to do. i also have a ritual–i always get peanut m&ms in the airport and a coke (i never drink it otherwise) on the plane; helps settle my stomach. rituals can be helpful for anxiety, too.

    anyway, sorry i can’t help, but safe travels! enjoy it 🙂

  3. I know that you’re already safely in Other State but I didn’t realize you didn’t like flying so much! When I fly to Paris for our honeymoon, I made sure to take some Benadryl before takeoff. It was like a sleeping pill without the aftereffects. I slept the whole way!

Leave a Reply

