Something Fun

And we’re off on our crazy adventure of a summer.

Mr. A has worked very hard this semester. On top of backstabbings and general first year stress, Mr. A also had some pretty rough health problems flare up. I think he had something like 5 or 6 small surgeries/procedures where he had to be put under general anesthesia. And that’s not even counting the 8 hour night in the emergency room and the doctor’s visits and the general not feeling well for much of the first part of the semester.

I felt he deserved a small little token of my appreciation.

I bought him a couple of his favorite cigars and some crafts beers and took him out to dinner. I wanted him to have a couple days to relax before he headed to his first summer job.

Nothing too fancy. Nothing that was a big deal. Just something small.

But that’s not the only thing we have to celebrate.

On Memorial Day, May 30th, we will be celebrating our first wedding anniversary.

I have a whole post planned for it, but it has been one heck of a year. And, I think, we both deserve a little fun and celebration.

I had originally been planning maybe going to one of the local wineries and enjoying the sun. Maybe going to a nice dinner.

But this weekend, Mr. A surprised me. He said that we would be going to STL, getting a hotel room at one of the nicer ones downtown, going to a special dinner, and then going to a baseball game on that Monday, exactly as we did one year earlier. The fun of getting married around a holiday is getting extra days off to spend time together.

Since I had an e-mail with a discount to book a hotel through one of the booking websites, Mr. A asked me to book the room. He mentioned a couple hotels- one we’ve been to and loved, and another very nice one. I started looking at prices and upgrades and what was available. And then it hit me. Why not go back to the hotel we stayed at on our wedding night?

Through the travel site, the hotel was a little more than we were planning on spending. We may want to have a nice weekend, but we can’t just splurge and spend all our money on extravagant hotel suites.

I still wanted to see if it was possible, and lucky me, the hotel’s website had a special going on and I got the room for a deal.

So so so excited. The room and hotel was amazing. And now I have a surprise for Mr. A since he doesn’t know where we’re staying.

And one other little present.

Mr. A wears suits, or at least dress shirts and ties, every day for work and will do the same for his second externship. He dresses up nicely and actually prefers dress shirts to anything else. So I ordered him some brass shirt stays and had them engraved. Nothing big, but something so he knows how much I love him.

That’s our fun for now. I have no idea where we’re going for dinner since Mr. A wants to surprise me with that detail. I think he’s just thrown that I won’t tell him where we’re staying.

P.S. We’re also getting breakfast in bed on Monday.

P.P.S. Also can’t wait to eat our wedding cake! (Hope it’s still good. It sure was delicious last year!)

P.P.S.S. Wishing we were going back to Mexico, but maybe next year…

8 Comments

Filed under Happy little posts, Just having fun, Married Life, wedding

8 responses to “Something Fun

  1. EH

    So much fun! You guys definitely need a nice holiday together – congrats!

  2. Sarah

    That sounds like so much fun! I hope you two have a wonderful weekend together! 🙂

  3. I love it! You are going to have a blast, so enjoy!

  4. We got married over memorial day too! Except our falls on the 24th – great weekend for weddings!

  5. Jessica @ Acting Adult

    Love that you’re going back to the same hotel! What a fun treat. You’ll have a great weekend in the city, and with the ballgame too! I love the idea of giving him engraved brass stays. Where did you order them? I think my husband would like some for his birthday since he also wears a bunch of dress shirts, even for every day not job related.

  6. Sonya

    Sounds like a great plan! There are quite a few hotels that we love in downtown STL! We went back to our honeymoon destination in KY for our 1st anniversary too.

    Also, we’ll be at that ballgame Monday! I bought tickets yesterday since my parents are taking my brother’s season ticket seats, we decided to tag along! We got the $9 seats which was awesome!

  7. Happy anniversary, dear! 🙂

    Way to go with the great planning as well. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  8. Jamie

    Aw, how sweet! Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

