Brain Dump

I’m at a bit of a stalled point with this here blog. Not sure where to take it or what to do with it.

I don’t want to keep writing sad and depressing posts about my craptastic job and how I’m hoping and praying I got into the graduate program AND they give me a TA position and how if not, I must start school job searching which is almost as depressing. I don’t want to do that.

I also don’t want to write about weight loss and dieting and working out. I’ve hit a bit of a speed bump, and I’m working on getting back, but I don’t want to shove it down your throats and I don’t love talking about my weight problems all the time, so yeah.

And at the same time, I feel like all I’m writing are frivolous silly posts about meals and a shitty haircut and my irrational fear of dogs. I have considered writing a series of irrational fear posts bc I have a lot of them, but that’s strange too and still, not what I want the whole blog to be about.

So thoughts? What do YOU want. Yes, I write for me, but also for you. I love the connections I’ve made, so what do you want?

While we ponder, tonight is a brain dump. I just like lists.

* Tomorrow is my wonderful mother’s birthday. She does so much for me and I know I don’t show the amount of appreciation that she deserves, especially after the amazing wedding she put together for us. So, I am driving home tomorrow morning, and my brother and I are taking her to lunch. She’s big on us not spending money on her because she doesn’t want to be a burden, but when I called her about it, she got kind of choked up, so I know she appreciates it and is looking forward to it. Also, looking forward to time with both of them. Now that I’ve grown up, I truly cherish the relationships with both of them.

* Mr. A kicked butt on a project at school, and while I try not to put too much of his law school stuff on here, after all the backstabbing and drama at the start of this semester, I want to brag on him a little. He works hard and I know his confidence was a little shaken. Add on being really sick and then missing nearly a week of school because of surgeries (yes, 2 in one week) and hospital visits at 1 am, he needed it. So, yay him!

* Really bad haircut is ruining everything. Not really, but I’m already tired of headbands and bangs pinned back everyday. THIS NEEDS TO GROW OUT SOON!!

* I have baby fever. Sort of. I see them when they’re tiny and I see the cute clothes and things and I want one. But really? I just want to babysit one because I want to send it back. I would panic if we were pregnant right now because of money and jobs and, um, hello, LAW SCHOOL. No kids for us. But they sure are cute.

* I also REALLLLLLLY want a puppy. Despite my weird fear of dogs I don’t know, I love puppies and if it’s my dog, I won’t be afraid of it. Tempted to talk Mr. A into getting out of our lease we signed and finding a place that allows dogs in case I get a job that pays enough that we can afford one. They are just so stinking cute and I’ve wanted one for forever.

* Also, Netflix instant is ruining my life. I have watched more episodes of GREEK and Grey’s Anatomy than I think is reasonable for someone of my age. But I am obsessed. And when GREEK is over, don’t worry, I have another crappy show lined up. Make It or Break It. Yepp. I love me some television. Also, I missed GLEE’s alcohol episode tonight, so I will be hulu’ing it tomorrow. I need a life.

* So I may not love my job, but my manager is probably my most favorite boss that I have ever had. She’s rather fantastic. We have the same sarcastic sense of humor and she can see through some of the b.s. our store manager drones on about. She was also incredibly understanding about Mr. A’s health stuff that came up and me having to miss several shifts at work. Makes it more bearable.  Also, the ridiculous things customers do are pretty funny. Working on a crazy customer post.

Hope you are all having a good week. Tell those you love that you love them. Take some time for yourself and do what makes you happy.

8 Comments

Filed under Happy little posts, Life After College, Life in Law School (even if I'm not in it), Useless

8 responses to “Brain Dump

  1. Just keep writing about yourself, and yes, that includes the posts about the weight loss, the crappy job, the graduate program, etc., etc.

    Like in any friendship, sometimes the conversation is not very exciting to outsiders, but its really good to just unload all your troubles and what is truly on your mind to a friendly ear.

  2. Sorry you are in the same sort of blog blahs that I am! Hope you have a nice time with your mom and brother!

  3. Shannon

    Here is my two cents: If you don’t want to write those posts because *you* don’t want to write them, that’s one thing. If you don’t want to write them because you think they’re boring to people, well, knock it off. Look, this is where you are in life right now. Maybe you don’t think it’s very exciting. Maybe it’s stressful. Maybe there are bumps in the road. But I think you should be able to write about what your life is at this moment (if you want to, that is). Sometimes writing about these things is how we process them and gain a new perspective. And how will you be able to see how far you have come next year (when you’re in grad school with an awesome TA job;)) if you don’t write about where you are now?

    I, for one, like reading blogs like yours because you’re real – and don’t hide from your struggles. Because we have all been there (or, um, are there now) – and not only is it comforting to see that other people are trying to figure out life too – it’s also nice to know that I can be supportive of other people when they are having a tough day. Believe me – we all have your back – and Mr. A’s;)

    Either way, I hope you keep writing! About whatever your little heart desires.

    • EH

      Shannon’s right. Write for yourself. Write because it’s practice and it will make you a stronger writer. Write because someday it’ll be interesting for YOU to look back at. Forget about everyone else. 🙂

      • I think that’s my plan. I let that comment a couple weeks ago get to me and I just didn’t know if all of my readers thought I was being whiny on here. I want to write about what is happening now, good and bad, so I think I will continue to do so.

  4. You have to just go with the flow with the blog. When I don’t have something interesting to write about, I don’t usually force it. Hence, the semi-silence on my side. But I love hearing about your life, regardless of what’s going on! I’m glad that Mr. A. is doing better and that there is something in your job that you like. And you taking your mom out to lunch for her birthday? You’re the best daughter ever. 🙂

  5. I know what you mean. I really don’t know what to blog about, so it’s times like that I just brain dump (looooove those kind of posts) or stick to my theme days until I’m out of my funk. 🙂 You’ll get there.

  6. Dude. Write about what you want to write about. I had an entire post about how I like to listen to Katy and Taylor in the library. NO JUDGMENT.

    I think everyone has lulls… I’m in one right now, I think it’s typical for this time of year and this point in law school. Your posts are always relate-able and I think a lot of people can relate to having some bumps right about now!

Leave a Reply

