Food is my Favorite

Things have been hectic recently. Over Christmas break, Mr. A was home and I was working a lot, so we had a lot of pizzas and frozen things.

Then, I was working and trying to apply to grad school, which meant lots of library time to work on a paper and such, so lots of fast food.

And then last week happened. Which involved a lot of eating  out and junk food. We hadn’t gone to the grocery store in nearly two weeks, and with Mr. A’s limited diet last week, eating out was kind of our best option.

And when we got married, I was trying to cook more and work on my less than desirable skills in the kitchen.

So this week, I’m trying to get back to cooking more, eating more at home, and trying to be more domestic.

Sunday: I didn’t cook. BUT, my favorite brand of store bought garlic bread (Cole’s), has an entire meal in a box. Different pastas, sauce, and garlic bread. Was out of a box, but actually really delicious. You can’t really go wrong with cheese tortellini. 

Monday: Valentine’s Day!! I said it on Twitter, but our dinner was fantastic. We has baked asparagus, salmon pinwheels (one with lobster stuffing (AMAZING), the other with spinach and feta (VERY GOOD)), and then we had a French baguette with dipping oil. For dessert, Mr. A’s favorite, blackberry pie. We opened up our favorite bottle of wine from a local winery and it was a perfect dinner at home. The pinwheels may have been made from the seafood counter and all I had to do was bake it, but I cooked it and it was delicious.

Tuesday: Tonight we are having beer-braised beef, mashed potatoes, and broccoli. I found the recipe here and it looks pretty delicious. Also, we had some steak that needed to get used, so this was the way to do it.

Wednesday: I work until 6, so we’re just going to have spaghetti with spicy marinara sauce. Mr. A makes a fantastic sauce, so he gets to make that.

Thursday: We are having DuolyNoted’s bruschetta because it is absolutely wonderful. Favorite recipe we’ve found. We’re also having these stuffed crab shells from our grocery store. They are super cheap and delicious. They coem frozen, so we buy them and then just keep them in the freezer for an easy dinner. Yummmmmm.

Friday: Mr. A’s stepmom gave us her chicken and rice recipe. I’ll have to type it up for you all. So delicious. Basically chicken, rice (we use brown), cream of mushroom soup, broth, and some vegetables and you bake it. So delicious.

Saturday we will probably go grab dinner just because one of our favorite things to do is to go out to eat, we just need to do it WAY less often than we have been.

What are some of your favorite dishes? Any new one’s I should try?

5 Comments

Filed under Foodie, Married Life

5 responses to “Food is my Favorite

  1. Made that exact beer-braised beef recipe a few weeks ago and it was SO awesome!! Your menu sounds great. I love cooking and totally miss it while I’m in school. At least I have the weekends though!

  2. So I had been really good about cooking every night this semester until last night, when for some reason I decided to have 2 leftover Valentine’s Day cupcakes and a Lunchable for dinner (No, I don’t know how or why a lunchable was even in our house and in retrospect it may have expired). M was working late so I just didn’t care. I wish I’d just eaten some leftovers or something instead of like 2000 calories of crap! Good for you for picking it up…. I think the hardest part is getting back into the swing of cooking, and once you do it’s not that hard- the worst part is just making it a part of the daily routine again.

  3. that all sounds delicious!

    i have two night classes, and by the time i get home, i’m too tired to cook real food. those nights i usually have wine and carrots. no joke.

    last night i made stuffed bell peppers, a childhood favorite. lop off the top half of a bell pepper (any color you want, but i’m partial to orange for these), empty the guts out. boil the bottom half for 5-10 minutes. meanwhile, brown 1lb ground beef (i use turkey to be a bit healthier), add diced onion, diced jalepeno, and the diced top half of the pepper. once it’s brown, add an 8oz can of tomato sauce and then some bread crumbs to sop up the extra sauce. then, fill the bottom half of the bell pepper with your meat mixture. cover the top with bread crumbs and then a bit of shredded cheese. bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes until the cheese is bubbling.

    ultimate comfort food. not a very scientific recipe, but you can make it however you want. and it is deliciousss.

    • We will have to try that. Sounds like something Mr. A would love.
      And if you’re making dinner for your guy friends, make the beer braised beef. It was AMAZING. I used a pale ale beer (not just Bud light) and the flavor of the beer came out and it was wonderful.

  4. It’s so good to cook at home! I wish I could do it mroe often. Those recipes sound amazing.

Leave a Reply

