A Little of This, a Little of That

I know I’ve been MIA. I had numerous blogs posts that I wanted to write, but they didn’t happen.

You know that post I wrote about mono? Yeah…it doesn’t stop there.

**So I have mono, and while I haven’t been just terribly sick from it, it has worn me down and I could use a 2 hour nap every afternoon. The only way I was surviving my work shifts was with a super vitamin B complex every morning and a large coffee every afternoon, or for the last couple hours of my shift. And I’ve never been one to rely on coffee for caffeine to stay awake or for energy.

And then, on December 29th, I start feeling really bad. I thought sleep would help, but then I woke up on the 30th and thought I had been hit by a truck. Welcome the flu to my little virus party. Apparently I can’t catch a break when it comes to getting sick. I’ve been laid up on the couch for days. I had to call in yesterday and today. I’m sure work is super thrilled with me at the moment. Luckily, I always had tomorrow off, so I can get an extra day of rest because I don’t think I’m going to have an option as to whether or not I’m going to work on Tuesday.

** Everyone is doing a post about their resolutions. I feel like when I make resolutions, I end up jinxing myself and then it doesn’t happen. I watched this clip on The Curvy Girl Guide made by Barefoot Foodie and it really got me thinking. I’ll probably do it’s own post on this, but I have some serious weight to lose. But I have to approach it differently. I have to just think about eating better and being healthy. Yes, I have a number in mind, but just going for a number hasn’t worked in the past, so maybe this new approach will. It’s either this or I’m sewing my jaw shut so I can’t eat. I’m hoping the first works because the second is going to suck.

** Other resolutions? I would like to read more, and thanks to some book clubs, I think this will be easily accomplished. I’m currently reading 1984 and it is fantastic. Can’t believe I haven’t read it before now.

Also, to get a big girl job. A job I won’t be embarrassed to tell people about. A job I feel proud of. A job that, if I was completely on my own, I would at least be able to pay rent and my own bills. Currently, I don’t make enough to even cover the rent on our apartment. And student loan money will be sparse for this semester. I need to feel proud of myself. I need to feel like my husband didn’t make a mistake marrying a girl who can’t get a real job. 2011, you better get to work because I’m expecting a lot.

Speaking of jobs, I did apply for one tonight and they e-mailed me back with a couple additional questions, which I’m taking as a good sign. Trying not to get my hopes up too much, but any thoughts, prayers, good juju you want to send this way would be greatly appreciated.

** While I don’t want this blog to only talk about work, I will say it majorly sucks right now. And I looked at next week’s schedule. Umm…they have me down for 3 shifts from 4AM til 9AM. Ummm…..no?!? For one, it’s listed under a department number I don’t know, so it’s probably stocking. Also, the hours imply stocking to me. What part of mono and need rest and don’t need to be lifting does no one understand?? Again, new job is needed. And fast.

I plan on writing more consistently, but I need to get better first. I hope you are all doing well and know I miss you. I also have lots of blog reading to catch up on. So no worries. I haven’t given it up. I just need this roaring sinus infection, sore throat, flu, and mono to all go away. That shouldn’t be too long, right?

6 Comments

Filed under Freak Out Much?, Life After College, Married Life, Working Girl

6 responses to “A Little of This, a Little of That

  1. Sarah

    I’m sorry you’re still (and even more) sick. Hope you feel better soon!

    I think 2011 will be a great year! 🙂

  2. Oh girl I am so sorry about the mono 😦 That is the worst feeling I’ve ever had. Hang tough and DO NOT LIFT ANYTHING HEAVY (geez, what were they thinking?!?)

  3. Oh my goodness girl. I can’t believe the rotten luck you’re having. I’m saying prayers – and hoping you get that 4 AM shift stuff taken care of ASAP! Well wishes coming your way!

  4. So sorry you are double sick now!! Take care and get plenty of rest. I hope you had a nice holiday!!

  5. feel better soon, girl! xo.

  6. Ugh you poor dear! Hang in there and do what’s best for your health.

    Very admirable resolutions as well – and not crazy unrealistic. Sounds like 2011 is going to be an awesome one for you!

Leave a Reply

