No More Snow Days

Went to bed last night and it was cold and windy. It had rained all day, but had finally decided to stop. It was just a cold December night.

This morning, Mr. A got up and was headed to get some tabs from Walmart for his Torts outline and then was going to spend a couple hours at Panera to study before meeting up with his study group. I groggily drug my butt out of bed and was thinking what I would do with yet another day off at home alone. And then Mr. A called me to the living room.

I walked out, bed headed, teeth unbrushed still, sleepy eyed and decided that if he was going to show me a bug, he was going to be in big trouble.

He opened the door to this:

Doesn't look like it in this pic, but we have about 5 inches and it's still snowing...

So, I know they kept talking about a Midwest storm, but it wasn’t supposed to be here.

I had gotten on weather.com last week just to look and see if we would get hit, and STL was the most southern point of the storm path, at least according to the forecast maps. We were going to get rain and some super cold temperatures. Maybe a flurry overnight, but really nothing accumulating.

WRONG. So very wrong.

Mr. A had a foot deep snowdrift behind his car this morning.

I like to say that it’s because we put up our Christmas tree last night and a few decorations.

Royal blue and silver glittery ornaments. I'm in love with it.

Since we don't have a mantle, I decorated in front of the tv with wine glasses and left over ornaments.

May not be a scientific cause, but a girl can dream, right?

The sad thing, I really wish I could go play in it. If I was back home, I would be going to Art Hill and screaming my head off in fear that I would be catapulted into the lake, even though it’s never happened. And then curing the whole way back up the hill. But too fun to pass up.

But the hubs has a final tomorrow, so I will be at home, sitting on the couch, watching Netflix, drinking hot spiced apple cider and praying that the snow keeps up and the mall decides to close tomorrow so I don’t have to go. If only….

How are you spending your snow day today?

5 Comments

Filed under Happy little posts, Home Sweet Home, Life After College

5 responses to “No More Snow Days

  1. Oh how fun! We never get really big snow here. We got about a half an inch last winter. I’d LOVE to have a snowy fun day! Enjoy your wonderful winter wonderland!

  2. SO JEALOUS! I’m so sick of rain. It just rains and rains and rains and never ends. And then sometimes there is ice which sucks when I run. Fabulous. At least yours is pretty 😉

  3. I really wanted to go play in the snow, but we ended up spending most of the day at the assisted living facility, dealing with my husband’s grandmother’s death. I sure would have preferred to be playing in the snow with you on Art Hill!

  4. No snow for us either! But it looks pretty where you are, and I really like your tree and decorations!

  5. No snow here in Dallas either. We did get a big cold front though. Temps got down in the 20’s at night…but it’s going to be in the 70’s again by Wednesday. The snow looks fun!!

Leave a Reply

