Holiday Recap

These past few days have just been busy and hectic.

Thanksgiving was a lot of fun, but way too short for me. Since my family does it as a late afternoon thing, and I had to be at work super early the next day, we were only able to stay for a couple of hours. I was actually pretty upset about this since this is the only time I get to see that part of the family. I’m finally old enough that the older cousins, (I’m the youngest grandchild by 7 years) are finally treating me like an adult and not the little girl anymore. And then I had to leave way earlier than I think I have ever left. I missed the family movie and spending time with my cousin’s 6 week old baby.

But, at least I got to see them for a little bit.

My mom and stepdad weren’t able to go, however, because my stepdad’s arthritis flared up so badly in his foot that he couldn’t walk. This is the first year my mom wasn’t at Thanksgiving and this was supposed to be the first time in probably 10 years that all the siblings would have been there. But my mom planned out what she would be shopping for on Black Friday and got together her game plan.

And speaking of Black Friday…

Never again. If I happen to be working retail still next year, I will quit before Black Friday. It was hell.

I got there at 5:30am. Mr. A and I were going to go at 4 to buy a couple things we wanted, but I wasn’t sleeping well and decided to sleep that extra 1.5 hours because I knew it would be a long day. And if I had gone, I would have been at work for 12 straight hours.

We were allowed to wear tennis shoes since it would be a long and busy day. It helped the first 6 hours, but then it just didn’t matter. I was supposed to work a 10.25 hour shift. I ended up working 11.5. For some reason, my boss made my lunch break at 8am and I didn’t get off till 5. If I had been at home on a normal day, I would have eaten breakfast at 8 and then lunch at noon or 1. That day, I had some cold Fazoli’s that work had delivered for us and not another bite of food until 5:30 that night. I ran around all day. I had people that were super crabby and rude. I dealt with some rude coworkers who took over a register, wouldn’t share like we’re supposed to in order to equally distribute sales since we have sales goals to meet everyday. One woman, even if no one was wanting to check out for the moment, stood back there while the rest of us straightened since it looked like a tornado went through the store. It may seem like a small thing, but since I’m holiday and hoping they will keep me so I have a job after January, I need my sales numbers to look as good as possible.

When I got home on Friday, I was nearly in tears because my feet hurt so badly. I have never felt pain like that in my feet before. My MIL had given the husband money and told him to take me out to dinner since she knew I would have a long day, so that was much appreciated and I devoured some delicious Thai food.

Saturday I worked again in the morning, and while it was busy, it was less chaotic and back to the more enjoyable work environment again. After work, I headed to Mr. A’s hometown to see his family for their Thanksgiving. It was a great time and, even better, the new baby that his cousin and his wife adopted from Ethiopia- even cuter in person. And I’m not just saying this because he’s family,  but this baby would be a perfect Baby Gap model. He has the best smile I’ve ever seen and he has the widest range of facial expressions. Also, when he first meets someone, he wants you to get close enough so he can feel your face, so it was sweet when he was touching my face and giggling and smiling. Melted my heart. Husband kept feeling my forehead to make sure my baby fever was in check. HA!

Also was able to hold the 4 week old baby and he was just as calm and content as could be. New babies are the best. Right next to new puppies.

This week has been busy with work and holiday traveling and various things going on. These next few weeks are going to be rough since finals start next week and work schedules, and Christmas shopping and trying to maintain some level of a life. I’m ready for…something. I think I’m ready for this year to be over already. On to the next holiday.

10 Comments

Filed under Life After College, Working Girl

10 responses to “Holiday Recap

  1. oh nooo I’m sorry black friday was so awful 😦 I’ve only ever worked it at Starbucks and I thought THAT was bad. I can’t even imagine! But a year from now I’m sure you will be doing something much more fun!

  2. Ohh girl, can I *ever* relate to this.

    Because of my schedule and our distance from family, the only relatives I got to see were my immediate family. No grandma or her famous dishes. No cousins.

    I worked till midnight on Wednesday and arrived at work at 3 am on Friday and worked a 12 hour shift. I feel you pain so very much.

    Sorry the other girls you were working with aren’t team players. That sucks. Now I want to know where you work!

  3. Haha I accidentally submitted before I finished. But I have to tell you… I had 3 girls working around 5 am, which is right when my store opened. Aand… at around 6, before things even got crazy, I found them sobbing in the back room. For no apparent reason other than it was busy and they were stressed and tired.

    So at least your day didn’t suck as much as theirs. I hope!

  4. I had to work black friday last year- but luckily I got the closing shift which was much better. Plus I worked for Coach so there wasn’t really any “black friday deals” so we just got the spill over from the crowds. Still, no fun!

  5. OH MY GOSH THAT SOUNDS AWFUL!!!!!! I’m so sorry. 😦

  6. Glad you made it through the horror. I can’t imagine how tired you were – proud of you for sticking it out! 😉

  7. Wow – yikes! What a Black Friday!

    Congrats on your new baby cousin!

  8. I’m tired just reading your post. What a crazy weekend! Hopefully it will be your only Black friday experience from that perspective.

  9. holy cow, black friday. there were things i legitimately wanted to buy, but refused to deal with crowds. thankfully i could just refuse to go, sorry you couldn’t. 😦

    were your customers incredibly rude, generally?

    • Oh absolutely. We had coupons, but they are super particular about which they work for and which they dont, and all I can do is scan it and see if it applies and people were so mad at me, when really, it’s all on the card. And I understand, but don’t yell at me and call me dumb. Also, people hadn’t slept since Thanksgiving morning, so the customers by 8am were just rude and cranky.

Leave a Reply

