First Day

TODAY WAS MY FIRST DAY AT WORK!!!!! WOOOHOOOO!

Yes, I work at a department store, but whatever. It was a first day at WORK. After 4 months of no work at all.

It was glorious. 8 hours in dress pants, nice top, and heels (albeit comfortable ones). Hair was done. Makeup on. I even woke up early enough to shower before work. I’m impressed with myself.

The funniest part was that I was supposed to be there at 10am. We still had to do all of my paperwork and such, so I thought I would get there early. Well, I had been told about an employee entrance, but I didn’t know where it was. So, I was walking around the outside of the mall by my store, in dress clothes, and it was like 55 degrees this morning. Also, the mall didn’t open until 10, so I was there for 30 minutes, wandering outside hoping to see someone else who worked there and follow them in.

Even better? I saw a girl walking in, in black like I have to wear, but she was on the phone so I just followed her. Turns out, she works at a hair salon in the mall and the entrance I followed her through was just an entrance to the mall, so I STILL couldn’t get into our store.

Needless to say, the little old ladies already in the mall, waiting for the stores to open, were looking at me like I was crazy.

Today was pretty much paperwork and training. Reading over the handbook and code of conduct and such. They have it where everything is done on the computer and you watch little things and read stuff and follow along. They even had a section of work outfit options to show you ways to style it up and what is appropriate or not. Other than the black requirements, their dress code leaves it so you can add color and style and you don’t look like you’re always going to a funeral.

Then, for 3 hours, I was trained via computer and training register how to ring out customers and make returns and exchanges and all that fun stuff. Need a department store credit card? I’m your girl. Can’t find something in our store and need to see if it’s at another? I’d be happy to help you.

Is it lame how excited I am about all of this? Because I am.

Working with people. Having real conversations. Interacting. I’m even looking forward to being a little stressed out. Small amounts of work stress are a good thing for me. Keeps me on my toes. And keeps the job from getting boring.

The discount is pretty good, especially since we can use coupons with it. And they even have special employee days where we get an added discount. Hello Christmas shopping. Even better, it’s a store I love and would shop at anyways. Or would wish I could shop there but couldn’t afford it. But now I can!!

So thank you for all of the well wishes and support through all of this. I’m finally employed and will be sure to share the amusing stories that will inevitably come along with working retail at the holidays. But without disclosing where I work or indentifying features. Just to be on the safe side.

7 Comments

Filed under Life After College, Working Girl

7 responses to “First Day

  1. I’m so excited for you!!! 🙂 Congratulations again. I hope it is wonderful – and that you live to regale us with some fabulously funny tales.

  2. So happy for you!!! Congratulations!!!

  3. Sarah

    Yay, Congratulations! 🙂

  4. So glad you had a good first day! Well, except for the not being able to actually get into the store part. 😉

    Can’t wait to hear all of the funny stories! It’s so good to see you in such a happy and positive mood! Congrats!

  5. Your optimism is refreshing. It’s nice to see someone so positive about having a job. It makes me stop and remember that I’m lucky to not only have a job, but a good one in my profession. 🙂

  6. So glad you are excited about it! Sounds like a fun store!

  7. I am SO glad that you’re loving it! It’s good for you to get out of the house and interact with people other than your husband. 🙂

    And the discount most certainly won’t hurt!

Leave a Reply

