Attempted Hobby

***FIrst of all, I got LOTS of responses to yesterday’s post about Wal-Mart, both on the blog and on Twitter. I just want to point out that I don’t like supporting Wal-Mart. Not at All. I really dread every time I go there. However, we are in a tight financial budget and, unfortunately, they’re cheaper. BUT, after my last couple shopping trips there and how much I despise it, I’m trying to see if there’s a way to use coupons or store brands at Schnucks or maybe even Kroger to keep the price down without going into the zoo that is Wal-Mart. I feel I received a lot of strong opinions and I hope no one thinks I’m a huge supporter. I’m not. But I’m broke and sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. And I’ve never been to a co-op and not sure what’s there, not there, cost or anything. Not even sure where one is here…*

 

Anyways, this is about my new little hobby.

For graduation and Christmas last year, Mr. A bought me a nice and new fancy camera.

Nikon My little Nikon Coolpix p100

I’ve never owned a fancy camera before. I had a digital one before, but it wasn’t very nice and it had terrible software which made it a complete pain in the ass to load pictures or do anything with it. And then I left it on a cab in Vegas. Yeah. My dad was thrilled about that one.

Even thought it was pricy, we had a lot of important events coming up that we wanted a good camera for. You know, like a wedding and a honeymoon. Those things.

So here I was with a new shiny camera and not a clue how to use it. I mean, I could take a picture, but not clue how to really frame pictures or do cool things I see other people doing or what the different settings were for. The pictures I took looked significantly better than the ones on my old crappy camera, but not to the level that this camera should be able to do. Completely user error.

Therefore, my little beauty hadn’t been getting the use that it should have been. Also, it’s a little bulky so I feel awkward taking it everywhere like I might if I had a little thin one. But I am determined to use this more.

I figured this past weekend would be the perfect opportunity to take my camera with me and play around some. Not only would I be in the woods and have pretty things to shoot, my dad is actually really good with a camera and I would have lots of time to ask him questions and have him show me things. As it turned out, both of my dad’s friends are also really good photographers, so I got hints from everyone. One guy has some intense lenses and takes pictures that I’ve seen being sold for hundreds of dollars. (I’m getting my dad to e-mail me a couple. I’ll post them as soon as I get them. And I will tell you which ones are his, even though you will be able to tell because his are gorgeous.)

I must say that I in now way think I’m all that good. This was my first time ever really playing with effects and settings. I’m not sure how to use lighting quite yet. I really want to take a photography class and friend M said I should see if a camera shop here in town has a class to take. I’m looking into it.

Mostly, and this will sound so lame to anyone who takes pictures, but I learned that a macro is used for close-ups. Confession? I thought that flower meant it was for nature pictures. Dumb. So, a lot of these are close-ups because I found it so fascinating the details I could capture. Also, my dad taught me how to take a close-up and then make the things around it blurry. I apologize that most of these will look similar. I learned something new and then kept going with it.

DSCN0768 I also took like 12 pictures of my ring because I didn’t know about the macro, and until this weekend, had never been able to get a good picture of it. HA.

DSCN0758

DSCN0767 Super tiny flower.

DSCN0769 I love my Chuck Taylors. Lameeee

DSCN0770 Fun mushroom/fungi thing.

DSCN0771 Close-up on some wheat

DSCN0773

DSCN0787 Yummy salad.

DSCN0794 My brother’s sweet boots. I took pictures of everything.

DSCN0800 I thought my brother’s vein-y hands were neat.

DSCN0805

DSCN0818 My brother has a Harley sportster. It’s pretty cool.

DSCN0820

DSCN0885 Up the tail pipe.

DSCN0866 Why yes, my brother DOES have a sparkle blue helmet. No, he’s not gay. Promise.

DSCN0871 Cool side mirror picture. Should have cleaned the mirror first. Oops. And my brother wears the bandana to keep his face from chapping. He’s not in a gang. Promise. I sure do a lot of defending for that kid… Too bad he’s a badass.

DSCN0873 Oops. Got myself in that one. Not the point.

DSCN0827 My camera even has a food setting. My dad found this amusing.

DSCN0840

DSCN0845 I want to see a bird that actually has a feather that looks like that.

DSCN0857 Lonely leaf.

DSCN0865

DSCN0878 I really like this one of my brother playing guitar.

DSCN0880 Beer of choice.

DSCN0887 Barbed wire keeping out the nature.

DSCN0892 Cool tree and I like how it’s framed against the blue sky.

So there ya go. I don’t have any photo editing software. I would love Photoshop, but it’s pricey. Does anyone know of any online or cheaper programs to use? Especially since I’m new to this. Not quite ready to invest too much money into a new thing just yet.

Also, if you have any tips or tricks or something, feel free to let me know. I love great photos and hope to learn to take some soon.

7 Comments

Filed under Happy little posts, Pictures, Things I Love

7 responses to “Attempted Hobby

  1. Those pictures are great! I love that your camera has a food setting. 🙂

  2. Notes from the Fatty File

    I really like the veiny hand photo!

  3. Jamie

    SO CUTE! You should check out my sister’s blog… She has a similar camera 🙂

  4. Sarah

    Love the pictures! Wish I had a fancy camera/photography skills.

  5. You’re doing a great job! You definitely understand composition, so that’s a plus. I hear Adobe Elements is pretty good and not nearly as expensive as Photoshop. I just purchased Lightroom and CS5 because I seriously needed an upgrade, but with my student discount it wasn’t all that bad. Never underestimate the power of a student discount!

    The best advice I can give is to just keep shooting. Take lots of pictures and look back through them. Try to pick out why you like one over the other. Is it the sujbect, the lighting, the focus? Then try to imitate what you like. It looks like you are off to a great start!

  6. Great pictures! I got a nice DSLR camera this summer and am also still learning how to use all of its features. My husband got me (read: copied from work 😉 ) a copy of Adobe Photoshop, but before that I used this great website called Picnik, which is incredibly user-friendly, and has some pretty sweet features that I still have yet to find on Photoshop. Try it and see what you think!

Leave a Reply

