Mockingjay

Mockingjay (Source)

***************Spoilers*********************Spoilers******************************

I know. I can’t write a book review without spilling the beans. Oh well.

This third book was loved by some and hated by others. Seeing as I just finished it a couple of hours ago, I haven’t completely made up my mind about it yet.

I have to admit, I didn’t really get into this book until about page 200. I felt it was slow and dragged on and on. I understand they had to have some background so they could get from point A to point B. And I don’t know that I can pinpoint what, if anything, could be cut out to make it less tedious, but that’s how I felt throughout the beginning.

District 13 felt very much like the societies from A Brave New World. Very rigid, and strict, and without fun or life or vitality in its citizens. The printing of the schedules on the arms seems like a way to control everyone, but somehow Katniss was able to walk away, which I also found strange. For a community that is run on strict guidelines and time structures and complete control of the leaders, Katniss was pretty much allowed to do whatever she wanted, whenever she wanted, how ever she wanted. I know she was the Mockingjay, but if Coin was so concerned about her, I would have thought she would have been more controlled.

The relationship between Katniss and Gale also confused me. For their being a supposed love triangle, I never felt much love about Gale. Even his actions towards her didn’t scream “I LOVE YOU” to me. It seemed like maybe he thought he was supposed to fall in love with her since they had been friends for so long and through so much, but it never felt genuine or real. Real or not real?

I love the character of Prim. So small, yet so strong and valuable. She seemed to grow up a lot and was well on her way to being a great doctor. I think it was interesting how strong she seemed to be for Katniss since the whole reason Katniss was in this mess was because she volunteered to go into the Games instead of Prim. She was always able to cheer Katniss up, or at the very least, pull her back from the depths of her depression and freak outs. And then she was destroyed while trying to help others. Something many other adults weren’t willing to do.

Sidenote, do we know who exactly blew up the children? I think it was Coin, but just making sure.

Peeta. Poor Peeta. I mean, he did everything under the sun to save the woman he loved, and then he’s captured and tortured. And not only tortured, but brainwashed to believe the woman he love was the same as the reincarnation of the devil. While an obviously effective tactic, it was so hard to read as he tried to determine what she was and how he felt about her. His comments towards her were painful, even if they had some truth to them. I have been in love with Peeta from the beginning and watching his pain and struggle broke my heart. He was even ready for them to kill him so he couldn’t be of harm to the rest of the group. However, when he was hissing Katniss’s name, I had my doubts if he would be able to recover. Creepy.

And then there’s Katniss. She was a mess. Poor girl was put in a position she didn’t want to be in, the keystone to a rebellion that she thought she believed in, but in the end, realized she was just another pawn, another play piece for a larger Games. She seemed to lose a part of herself. She wasn’t the girl who was so focused on saving those around her. I wish there would have been more interaction between Katniss and Prim. I thought she should have tried harder to help Peeta. And yes, her mission was important, but she went from not wanting anyone to die in her first games, to knowing the people helping her would die in the end.

I was sad at how the deaths of Finnick and some of the other characters was handled. I felt they were killed just to make it simpler in the end, to not have to wrap up the stories of more characters. I mean, she never even mentioned how Annie handled it, even though her instability was her main character trait. All we know is that she had a baby, but was she happy? And the other soldiers? We learned to care about them and love them and fear for their safety, yet they were just tossed aside. I think this was a major downfall of this book and why so many people had an issue with it. I know it was realistic. Their deaths were flashes in the battles and Katniss had to move on in order to do what she had to, but it felt insincere.

I had a hard time figuring out Coin. I think I know she was bad and was just as power hungry as Snow, but because they didn’t necessarily lay everything out, I wonder. Was Snow really the better of the two options? When she killed Coin, was she wanting to save Snow, or did she know he was going to die as well?

I think I knew the end of Gale and Katniss for good was when she put two and two together about the parachute bombs. Poor guy’s own invention was used against him/the rebellion.

And while it was a little lame, I was so happy Peeta and Katniss ended up together. I know DuolyNoted doesn’t agree, but I’m such a girl and such a sap that I couldn’t help being overjoyed about their happy little family with no fear of sending their children in the Hunger Games.

All in all, I liked the book, but I think the first two were better, but the first two needed a conclusion, so here it is. I’m so glad that another Hunger Games didn’t have to happen. It would have been hypocritical to put more children and their parents through the terror and grief. I was happy that Coin wasn’t there to cause more problems and possibly off Katniss and Peeta to suit her needs. I think it could have been better, but I wasn’t completely distraught.

 

What did YOU think? I know I’m behind the bandwagon as everyone else finished it two months ago. Did you like it, or were you thrown with how carelessly she killed some of the great characters?

3 Comments

Filed under Favorite Books

3 responses to “Mockingjay

  1. MW was rooting for Peeta, I was rooting for Gale. Big drama in our house. But I’m glad some people were happy…. lol

    I totally agree on Brave New World, almost to the point that it bugged me at points (but I don’t think she actually ripped anything off and the story is way too unique to really be borrowed). Such a good series!

  2. No! No! I was totally happy they ended up together because Peta was always my favorite. I just felt like the author kind of mutilated his character a bit, made him unrecognizable to the point that I didn’t get as much joy out of the two ending up together in the end.

    So glad to finally hear your thoughts on it!

  3. Honestly, I was on Team Gale for the first two books, and part of Mockingjay. But the circumstances of Mockingjay took Gale and Katniss and split their connection and broke down any relationship that ever could have been between them. And I understood it.

    I never really saw the books as a love triangle- it was much more about Katniss doing whatever she had to do to survive. She and Peeta’s connection was tenuous at best, since they had never spoken before they ended up as the whatever-it-was-called for District 12. The first games certainly didn’t last that long, and as soon as they were done, K&P stopped talking and didn’t speak again until their victory tour. Etc. But it was believable that eventually they would grow into feelings for each other.

    I was also annoyed at how they killed off some characters and the lack of follow-up for Annie. But I really liked Mockingjay.

Leave a Reply

