I sure do love food

food-photo (Source)

I wish I could be a food critic, but there are certain foods and types of food that I just won’t eat, so there goes that job.

Last week or so I cut back on new recipes. I was getting a little burnt out and things were hectic and I didn’t feel like spending hours on new recipes or anything.

Basically, I was being lazy. Oh well.

This week isn’t all new stuff, but I have a TON of baking to do for my little family trip this weekend and I didn’t feel like baking all day Wednesday and Thursday and then still having to try a new recipe.

Cooking is hard.

But, here’s a little rundown of what’s to come.

Tonight (Sunday) we had our FAVORITE spicy turkey sloppy joes. If you have not tried them, you must. I know sloppy joes sounds like crap food, but these are spicy and smoky and pure awesomeness. Go make them. Now. You won’t regret it.

I also made this cannoli dip. Umm….delicious. A friend had made something like this for our Superbowl party and it was so yummy. We dipped teddy grahams and pecan halves in it. Yum yum yum.

Monday, we are having slow cooker cheese steaks. They sound delicious and super easy. But since they take 4 hours, I hope I remember to put it in around 4 so we’re not eating at midnight.

Tuesday we’ll probably have little smokies wrapped in crescent rolls and soup of some kind. Mr. A LOVES the little smokies this way, and since I’m leaving him all weekend, I’m trying to make up for it.

Wednesday we’ll probably have leftovers or a hodgepodge of stuff. Wednesday I will be making chocolate chip pumpkin cupcakes and peaches and cream cupcakes for the weekend. The pumpkin ones I won’t be using their frosting or making them look like witches, but they reviews rave about them, so I hope they turn out well.

For this weekend, everyone gets assigned food to bring and somehow I got put on the list for cupcakes and either cinnamon rolls or cinnamon bread. I have the greatest homemade cinnamon roll recipe, but they’re kind of tedious and it’s easier for me to transport homemade cinnamon swirl bread, so that’s what I’m going to make Thursday.

Thursday night we will probably go out to eat since I’ll be leaving Friday.

Looking at this, I make a lot of sweets and not a lot of real food. I promise we don’t only eat cakes. Promise.

Thursday I will also be making Sarah in the City’s super easy chocolate pie for Mr. A since I’m making all these yummy things and he can’t enjoy them.

Next week, because I promised Mr. A I would, I’m also making Sarah’s homemade basil tomato soup and homemade pimento cheese sandwiches. I personally can’t stand pimento cheese, but it’s one of his favorites and he can take the leftovers for lunch, so I’ll go for it.

What are you making this week? Any new recipes I should try?

5 Comments

Filed under Foodie

5 responses to “I sure do love food

  1. Your recipes sound good. My husband and I got married in August, then moved immediately to D.C. where he started law school. I’ve really enjoyed cooking, especially since someone gave me the Southern Living Cookbook as a wedding gift. (I’m getting spoiled because it has very exact time estimates as to how long it will take to make something, which is awesome.)

    Cheese biscuits have become a staple in our weeks. They take about three minutes to mix, eight minutes to bake, and stay delicious for days. Two weeks ago I made a bunch of desserts, but I try not to do that because that led to us eating an entire 9×13 pan chocolate cake together over a long weekend. (It was supposed to be for a dinner party I had to cancel when his memo deadline got in the way.)

    • I LOVE cheese biscuits! The Red Lobster ones? I could eat them for days.

      And luckily, I’m taking these sweets for a bunch of other people so I won’t be eating all of them. Otherwise, it would be a problem.

  2. No, these cheese biscuits are from the Southern Living cookbook. Take two cups of Bisquick (sometimes I substitute half of it for regular flour, but then I toss in a little bit of baking soda), a half cup of milk and as much shredded chedder cheese as you want. Bake for eight minutes at 325 (or until they look golden brown). These remind me of Jim ‘n Nicks cheese biscuits but just not as sweet.

  3. That all sounds SO freaking good. I love the Cupcake blog that you linked to. Delish.

    I’ve been really bad about cooking and basically only do it on the weekends now 😦 But I do have some lemon poppyseed bread on hand and aspirations to make pumpkin flavored stuff for when my dad comes. I wish I made more muffins because they are so easily to eat on the commute!

  4. Okay, everything that you’re making sounds AWESOME! Be sure to post reviews/pics afterwards, so we all know which recipes to steal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

