A Little Thank-You

***The winner was #5, Legally Married! These were her favorite sports memories: My favorite sports memories (yes, I’m doing two): #1: Beating a top five team in the nation in overtime last season – the first time we had beat this in a ridiculous number of years. I literally had bruises on my hands from so much clapping and yelling. Going to the Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight games this year and seeing the trememdous amounts of fans that turned out. It was hands-down the best event I have ever been to and I screamed myself hoarse amongst that crowd of 40,000 fellow fans. Oh – how – I – love – basketball!

Thank you all, and we’ll see if I can come up with a good giveaway for Christmas time!!

You guys are amazing.

I never thought when I started this blog that I would “meet” so many wonderful people. Funny, witty, smart, brave, strong, snarky, sincere, sarcastic, wonderful. These are just some of the adjectives to describe you all.

And after this very rough week, I am even more grateful for you.

And to show my gratitude, I am going to do my first giveaway!

I’m pretty excited. I’ve wanted to do one, but couldn’t come up with something anyone would want (that wouldn’t cost me a fortune) until yesterday. And, it will fit in perfectly with the current sporting season.

Because………

roll tide tumbler

I am giving away a sports team tumbler!!!

A wonderful Etsy designer, initiallysmitten, makes these super adorable glasses. She makes all sorts of cute stuff, but I thought the team tumblers would be perfect for football season, college and NFL.

If you win, you get to give me your team colors and what name you would like on the tumbler. As you can see, this Alabama fan wanted Roll Tide, but you could put your school’s name, mascot, professional team, or even YOUR name and colors.

tumbler

I think these are adorable and I’m excited to give them away to a lucky winner. If I had it my way, I would give ALL of you one, but until I win the lottery, that won’t happen.

I love these and I’m probably going to get a couple as Christmas gifts.

So, all you have to do is leave a comment on this here blog and answer the following question:

What is your favorite sporting even memory?

This could be going to your first professional game, any sports you played in high school or college, or a family tradition of watching games together. Whatever it is, tell me about it!!

You have until Sunday October 10, 2010, at 6pm to enter. I will pick a random number and announce the winner on Monday!!

(Initiallysmitten is not sponsoring this giveaway. I have used images from her shop with her permission.)

8 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Happy little posts, Things I Love

8 responses to “A Little Thank-You

  1. FUN!

    My entire college social life revolved around our basketball team, so my favorite memory was when we drove to Santa Clara, CA for the WCC championship and we almost lost but then made an amazing comeback.

  2. Ooh great giveaway! Very festive!

    My favorite memory is the Redskins-Steelers game on November 3, 2008. It was a date with MW and the last home game for the Redskins has predicted the outcome of the presidential election for many years. If Washington wins at home, then the incumbent party wins. If the visitor wins, the challenger wins. The Steelers were MW’s team but he wanted the Republicans to keep the White House. So either way he lost/won. I wanted the other party but I loved the Steelers so I was very, very into the game! The Steelers ended up winning… and so did Obama. Fun night 🙂

  3. Great giveaway! So fun! My favorite sports memory is going to the World Series when the Cardinals were in it a few years ago. I love Albert Pujols!

  4. fattyfile

    Fun! I’m not a huge sports person but when my sister and I were kids, we’d get shipped off to family in Ireland for the summer. One summer was the World Cup when Ireland beat Italy. Holy crap, that was amazing! Also, I remember the whole country shutting down to watch the matches and my aunt baking cupcakes with green/white/gold icing 🙂

  5. My favorite sports memories (yes, I’m doing two):
    #1: Beating a top five team in the nation in overtime last season – the first time we had beat this in a ridiculous number of years. I literally had bruises on my hands from so much clapping and yelling. Going to the Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight games this year and seeing the trememdous amounts of fans that turned out. It was hands-down the best event I have ever been to and I screamed myself hoarse amongst that crowd of 40,000 fellow fans. Oh – how – I – love – basketball!

    What a great giveaway! You make me want to do a giveaway also! 🙂

  6. This is going to be pretty lame- but my favorite sports memory was watching Doug get overwhelmed with adrenaline at a flag-football IM game. His opponent (a frat boy we hated in college- no we are not anti-frats, just anti this frat boy) was talking smack at Doug earlier. The opponent made a breakaway and was on his way to a 20 yard run when Doug caught up with him grabbed him back the back in the shoulder area and threw him off the field. I couldn’t have been more proud. I’m bad. Hehehehe.

  7. What a cute giveaway. I love these tumbler glasses — my parents bought me several Alabama-themed ones a few Christmases ago.

    My favorite sports memory has to have been the University of Alabama’s national championship win last year. I was editor of my campus newspaper, and my then-fiance (a previous managing editor of the paper) came down to watch the game with us and help us put the paper out that night. It was crazy and stressful and I’m sure I would’ve had a better time actually watching the game in the stadium, but nothing beats the thrill of watching the game while running the online chat and being in the newsroom and trying to make sure we got the paper in at a reasonable deadline.

    That frontpage, which Nick and I jointly picked out a photo and headline for, now hangs in our bedroom. It came out so well.

Leave a Reply

