Finding Comfort

Comfort is…

… checking the front door lock 5 times before going to sleep

… knowing that even though times are tough, I made the right decisions about my life

… my husband holding my hand in the middle of the night after a bad dream

… knowing my parents will help us if it gets to that point

… knowing my parents still believe in me and know there is only so much I can do right now

… even though I don’t have people here to socialize with, I have Twitter and blog friends to share recipes and funny stories with

… watching too many episodes of The Office to keep my mind off things

… knowing our close friends had a healthy and beautiful baby girl today and Mom is doing wonderful

… talking to my mom

… husband cleaning up the kitchen for me after a bad day

… doing something. Anything at all to get me out of the apartment

… sweet tea

… knowing that when we do have kids, Mr. A will be a wonderful dad

… already knowing what type of dogs we are going to get and what their names are

… Mr. A loving law school

… Mr. A being good in law school

… knowing we get to move to a city we love in 3 years

… telling myself I am doing everything I can at the moment

… wine. In any form.

… making plans. This weekend. Next month. Christmas.

… reading blogs and finding connections with people

… looking through wedding pictures and wishing I could relive that day

… sitting on the couch. Husband next to me. Spending quality time together. Not wanting this moment to end.

6 Comments

Filed under Life After College, Married Life

6 responses to “Finding Comfort

  1. I think you are just amazing for looking on the bright side and finding the things that make you feel better and more at home in your life. 🙂

  2. Meredith

    A little over a year ago I was kinda sorta in the same spot as you. My bf and I had finished college and I said that I would move wherever he decided to go to grad school. We moved, he started school, I was unemployed. For months. Sometimes (okay lots of times) I felt really inadequate and lonely.

    All this to say, Way to go for trying to see all the good things that you have right now, all the things you have to look forward to and recognizing that you, as a person, aren’t defined by your life situation at this moment.

  3. just found your blog today. i was a new teacher and new wife and law school wife at the same time! i can’t wait to continue reading your adventures about the same crazy things 🙂

  4. I love your list. Cuddling on the couch with husband is the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

