A Little of This…

…a little of that…

I’ve felt a little lost for blog content, but I want to take The Pioneer Woman’s advice and make sure to blog at least everyday.

So, here I am.

American Wife

  • I’ve been reading this book. Several of you told me it was one of your favorites. Reading the summary, it looked like a story I would love. Are you sensing my hesitation?? The book…it’s dragging. I have about 40 pages left and I will finish it, but it’s been tedious. The story as a whole: yes. It’s intriguing. But I thought this was more about a woman who entered the White House as the President’s wife, but didn’t really want to. Didn’t fit in. As someone who answered that I would love to be Michelle Obama for a day to see what it’s really like to live in the White House, I was so excited about this. But, (and if you are planning to read this, maybe skip to my next bullet) only the last section is about her time in the White House. Also, the first 3 sections are fairly sequential. They will mention past events or give a little anecdote to supplement what is happening, but mostly it’s in order. The last section? Bounces all over. You never see what it was like during the campaign. The time is 2008, but most of the last section spends its time in the previous years. Throwing in tidbits that are important to the story, but apparently not important enough to actually be in the story. It just frustrates me. I feel she knew she wanted this story to include time in the White House, but she let the rest of the story go on too long, so it got shoved into the end of the book. Maybe the last 40 pages will save it? Maybe?

 

  • I made these sloppy joes tonight. AhMahZing. I mean, you think sloppy joes and think, eh. No no. Not these bad boys. They are a little spicy, but not too much. The spice adds flavor and isn’t hot just to be hot. We didn’t dice our onions or red peppers to small, so they were chunky and so absolutely wonderful. Put on a whole wheat bun-yummm. I had extras even though I was already stuffed. I was planning on doing a recipe recap next week after I make all the meals listed in my food post, but these were so good, they deserve two mention.

 

  • I’ve been pretty good about going to the gym everyday and doing 30-45 minutes on the elliptical. I’ve realized I can go longer and do more on the elliptical than the treadmill. While this is great, especially for this lazy couch potato, I know it’s not enough to lose the weight I want to. However, the workout machines and weights aren’t my cup of tea. There’s the “meat house”- the older machines, bench presses, huge free weights. And I have yet to see a girl in there. When I walked in to find Mr. A the other day, everyone stared and looked at me like I wasn’t supposed to be there. The other area is set up awkwardly, they have machines I’ve never seen before, but always too many people around for me to feel comfortable to try and test them out. Also, the only set of freeweights that I could use, meaning the pretty colored less heavy ones, are in a room that I haven’t figured out if I’m allowed in. It’s where you can sign up for personal training, get metabolic and fitness tests run, and those types of things. I just want to use their weights.  So, after hearing about Sarah in the Big City using Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, I decided to try it out. However, I have learned to do my cardio AFTER the video. I tried it the other way around today and I couldn’t get through the first 5 minutes because I was so tired already from the gym. I’ll let you know if I decide I hate Jillian Michaels or not.

 

  • Mr. A’s best friend’s surprise birthday party is this weekend. Kind of excited to see them again since we haven’t seen them since we moved. Not sure if or what to get him as a birthday present. This is the kid that has more money than anyone I’ve ever heard of. Also, they’re boys, so they don’t usually exchange gifts, but because there’s a party, do we get something anyways?

 

  • The lack of cable in our sweet little apartment meant that I couldn’t watch the VMAs. I was rather sad about this, especially after the fun I had watching and tweeting about the Emmy’s. MTV should have it on their website soon so I can catch up and understand what happened with the Kanye/Taylor drama and to see the amazing opener I heard about with Eminem. (I actually really do like him. Why? No clue. But I do.)

 

  • I’ve also found this song I like. Now, before I let you guys watch it, I will give a warning that since the name of it “F**K You” there are curse words fairly frequently. you’re all adults, but thought I’d give a warning before you jump into thinking it’s a fun Miley Cyrus song.

I found this song when a girl from home did a cover of it. I actually like her version better, but this video is more entertaining.

 

  • Also a HUGE congratulations to Melissa over at Duoly Noted. They have found a house after all their renting drama. I know she was very worried about this situation, so I thought a congratulations was in order. And wine. I’m celebrating for her with my own glass right now!

 

Everyone have a wonderful week. Enjoy your football, if you’re into that sort of thing.

9 Comments

Filed under Life After College, Wannabe former couch potato

9 responses to “A Little of This…

  1. Sarah

    I can understand that if you were expecting a book about the first lady, American Wife can be a bit of a let down. (A little warning: I thought the last section dragged. That being said, I LOVED the first three sections, so maybe you’ll like the end better.)

    And YAY for joining the cult of Jillian Michaels! She’s tough, but (as you noticed) (also, once you get used to the work-outs, and know what to do, you can mute it and play your own music and not listen to Jillian), it’s a great work-out. After a few days, you’ll start feeling so good! Especially when you add in extra cardio! I can’t wait until you really start to get into it and hear how it’s going!!

  2. Jamie

    Oh, American Wife dragged for me too. But I promise the ending is SUPER satisfying. You will not regret it 🙂

    The 30 day shred is amazing. I lost 8 pounds and I wasn’t even adjusting my eating. Actually, I probably ate more because I was a hungry hungry hippo after those work outs….

  3. Notes from the Fatty File

    I am one of those people who loved American Wife but I loved it because it wasn’t just a story about the wife of a president. So I can totally see how our expectations were different and therefore our final opinions are different, too. I really enjoyed the writing and the story line in the first 2/3 of the book. I’m curious to see what you think about the last few pages.

    BTW, Curtis Sittenfeld’s first book, Prep, is really good.

  4. I’ll have to try this book – I’m a super bookworm. And, good for you for working out. I get bored with the treadmill – I like the bikes and elliptical. Sounds like you are doing all kind of great personal development stuff – reading, cooking, exercising, listening to music with expletives in the titles.

    Hehe – just kidding. 😉

    • HAHA. I’m actually laughing out loud. Good thing no one is here to hear me. lol. Again, I found the song bc a girl from home did a cover and put it on YouTube. I truthfully love her voice, and while I am very happily married, I remember feeling this way and I thought it was kind of a fun and honest song. lol I feel the rest of my do-good actions let me be a rebel every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

