Autism

I am not an expert on this subject. I will not pretend that I am and I hope I don’t say anything that is incorrect in this post.

But I find this topic fascinating.

And all aspects. From the signs, the symptoms, the abilities, the behaviors. There is something intriguing about all of it.

There is also a wide range of severity. Some people with autism are extremely high functioning, and others need help in day to day endeavors.

These aren’t the type of posts I usually write. I understand this topic seems a little more serious than my post about my love of new dessert recipes.

And strangely, a movie brought me to write this. Dear John. Of all movies.

The movie is a Nicholas Sparks book turned movie. Not as good as A Walk to Remember, but definitely better than Nights in Rodanthe. I find the love story intriguing, but that isn’t what has brought me back to this movie over and over again.

It’s the father.

His story line alone brings me to tears every single time I watch and makes me yearn to give him a hug, tell his son to quit being so selfish and to listen to him talk about his coins. Every time.

I’m watching as I type this and tears pour down my cheeks.

This poor man who just wanted a hobby with his son, but due to his autism, becomes obsessed and it takes over his life.

When he freaks out in the car? I just want to burst through the screen and console him.

Yes, I know it’s an actor playing a part, but he plays it really damn well.

It kills me because many autistic people don’t like to be around other people and often push them away, for whatever reason. Many don’t like to be touched or have any type of physical contact and the idea of a large group of people can send them into a panic.

I don’t know a lot about this disease. I’ve learned some from various classes in college and I had some interaction with a couple students with autism during student teaching, but I wish I knew more.

For a while I considered being a special education teacher, but I really only have a desire to work with students with autism, not all of the others. I salute every special education teacher and I bow to your patience and willingness to work with a challenging group of kids. Hats off to you.

I really had no purpose in this post, other than I felt I needed to write it. I don’t feel like I’m shedding some great light on the situation, but maybe someone who has an autistic relative will know that someone else cares and feels for the situation.

Maybe someone will be a little more understanding. Maybe someone will reach out a hand and help someone else. Maybe.

2 Comments

Filed under The Others

2 responses to “Autism

  1. Jamie

    My cousin has this horrible disease. It’s really sad. He had heart failure as an infant and he has grown up to be very withdrawn. But he is amazing with computers. He can create things in Dreamweaver (at age 8) that most people can’t even conceptualize. It breaks my heart that he can’t communicate with us in the way that we want him to, but I hope and pray that he is expressing what he needs to in other mediums. Thanks for writing about this important issue!

  2. Have you thought about volunteering to work with austic kids? I’m on the board at a local charity that runs a school and home for kids with behavior disorders, mainly austism and Asperger’s. It’s a really incredible place and they’re always looking for volunteers. I do fundraising as well as some classroom work. I read to the kids once a month and help out with their school plays and musicals. It’s so rewarding! I love it there.

Leave a Reply

