The Waiting Game

Have I mentioned how not patient I am?

No? Well then, let me tell you.

I am not patient. I hate waiting. And waiting for big things, is even worse. Thanks, Mom. Your impatience has rubbed off.

So, the interview.

It happened. I think it went well, but it’s rather hard to decipher smiles and people taking notes about everything you say. It’s rather intimidating.

And while Beth believes in me, I am not so sure about this drama department duty as well. Not only would I be a new teacher with two preps- meaning I have LOTS of planning since I don’t have years of material behind me, I have KTIP, which is more work- observations, units to plan, lessons to be scrutinized; all the fun perks of being a new teacher, and add casting, rehearsing, and directing a school play?? Not so sure.

To put into perspective, since some of you may think, “Hey, it’s a school play. No big deal. Throw it together.”

No.

The teacher whose position I would be filling, left teaching to go pursue her acting career. Also, the school did Les Miserables in the spring. What high school does Les Mis??? And from what I’ve heard, it was fantastic.

They adore their theater department. I would be more than happy to help out, but I’m not sure I want to be the one in charge, at least not yet.

So we wait.

I’m supposed to hear something by the end of the week, but we all know how that goes.

I’ve decided what happens, happens. If I get offered the job, then I will work my ass off this next year and try to figure out a way to get it to work. If they pick someone else, then it wasn’t meant to be and I’ll figure something else out.

So that’s where we are people.

I wore hair half up and I wore the glasses. I decided once it was all put together, the glasses looked good with it all. A girl I graduated with was also interviewing, so we shall see what comes of this.

Working on pictures of the apartment and the wedding. There are a TON!

Thank you for all the support and kind words. It means a lot.

Also, I think my husband is in love with Lance Armstrong, but that’s for another day….

8 Comments

Filed under Life After College

8 responses to “The Waiting Game

  1. Glad that the interview went well! The waiting is the hardest part but its good to know that you did your best. Can’t wait to see wedding pictures!

  2. Glad it went well today! Everything else equal, I would think you’d have the upper hand (over your classmate) since you interned there. Here’s hoping they won’t wait until Friday afternoon to decide!

  3. As a theatre major, I’m always sad to hear of a school asking teachers to do double-duty. I feel like that’s not fair to the teachers and to the students.

    That being said, I think you’d be awesome! If you do end up getting the job and have questions about running a theatre department, I’d be happy to give you some advice as someone who has been around it for a long time. 🙂

  4. Best of luck. As someone who spent 6 months looking for jobs I know the HELL that is job hunting!

    I know it’s so corny, but eventually the job you get will be the right one. And if it isn’t the right one, it will lead you *eventually* to the right one. 🙂

  5. Just wanted to pop in and say hi, I just found your blog. Congrats on teaching and the marriage by the way. So exciting!!!

  6. AHHHHH!!! I feel your stress. WHENEVER you do get your job (which you will… whether it’s this school or the next), we should set up a drop box together! If you haven’t heard of it, Jim Burke pushes it on Ning. Basically, I can give you all my lessons. 🙂 That might help with those extra requirements (KTIP??? We call it BTSA… really they need a national program). Anyways… I BELIEVE YOU IN!!!!! You can totally do it (whatever it is at this point). 🙂 And yeah for hair half up half down. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Back to School? « New Teacher. {finally} New Wife.

Leave a Reply

