0-60

12 days and I become Mrs. A. 23 years as Ms. S and then it changes. There are so many things that I will have to change my name on. Credit cards, insurance cards, mailing addresses, bank accounts, social security cards, where I get a job, resume. The list goes on.

Shouldn’t he take my name? hah

And all I can think about is what Law School Wife wrote to me a little while back. I have these grand ideas in my head about the wedding and married life. I mean, there’s this HUGE event that’s been being planned or the last 17 months and it’s all I can think about or talk about. But what about after? No one gives you help for after. Just a million and a half wedding tips. But what do we do after? Does our relationship change? Do we act different? Just because we share a last name…does everything change?

This was Law School Wife’s advice to me: Enjoy every moment of this exciting time, because it will shock you how normal life is after the wedding! (Not in a bad way-things just fall into place. It’s like going 0 to 60 to back to 0!)

I can relate to this.

I just moved in officially to the fiance’s apartment. It’s not like I wasn’t over here ALL the time and practically lived here, but I no longer have my own apartment and all my stuff is crammed shoved in here.

We have been together for over 4 years now, so it’s not like we are still trying to get used to each other. We know the little quirks of each other and what buttons will upset the other and which buttons to stay away from. We pretty much know what the other likes and doesn’t. We will always learn something new about each other, but we’re pretty comfortable around each other.

So after the wedding?

Like she said. Back to normal.

I guess I always thought that everything changed after you got married, and in some ways, it does. I mean, we will still be the same people and the same couple. It’s not like we will start acting different or anything.I guess I figured there would some HUGE difference.

The ideas we get into our heads.

I think I will finally feel “married” when we move into our new apartment. I’ve spent so much time in this apartment as engaged, that I don’t think it will feel different. I also know we will be moving in the next two months, so I’m not forming any attachments. Which translates into bare walls and not much effort into decorating. I see no point right now.

Despite this lack of new-ness, I am still so very excited. His wedding gift came in today and he LOVES it. I know. Why did he get to see it before the wedding? Well, we both had a long discussion about these gifts. We both decided if we’re going to spend any significant money, then we should make sure we like it. I picked out mine and he picked out his. We wouldn’t want it any other way!

***

Now, this is the section where I ask you a question. Anyone have any good ideas/suggestions/creativeness for what to do with wedding cards? (Or any cards for that matter.) I saw an idea on someone’s blog, but I can no longer find it or remember which one I saw it on. I want to keep all of them, but I don’t want to just shove them in a box.

I hope you all enjoy your Tuesday!

New Teacher. New Wife.

4 Comments

Filed under Happy little posts, Married Life, wedding

4 responses to “0-60

  1. After three years of marriage, I can attest to the idea that it gets “back to normal” real quick. It was a great time at the wedding but then you have the rest of your lives to be “we”. I love it!

    With regards to your wedding cards, let me know if you find something neat! I still have mine sitting in the bird cage they were collected in at the wedding. Come to think of it, I still have the tulle that decorated the reception site… and the Christmas twinkly lights… I think it might be time for some weeding out of the wedding crap.

  2. Well, I should clarify. The practical day-to-day business is very “normal.” A week after the wedding, you will be right back to real life, doing dishes, watching TV, etc. But it does FEEL different to be married. I really can’t explain it, but you’ll know it when you feel it. It feels different to be married versus even living together; we lived together for a year before we got married.

    I’m so excited for you!! I can’t wait to see little snippets of pictures!

    • abottini

      lawschoolwife,

      I have really enjoyed your blog and miss reading it since the privacy settings have changed. Is it possible for me to be “invited” to your blog?

      Thank you!

      Also, Mrs. A, I hope you are enjoying your time as a newlywed now that things are back to “normal”. Great post!

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

