Why does anyone need 2??

In other news, we are down to 28 days and I feel like I should be doing something, but can’t really think of anything that needs to be done. I do need to do the seating chart, but I don’t have the final guest list and won’t get it till tomorrow, so I’m waiting on that.

Music, flowers, food, cake, dress-all done. We did so much early that now it’s like relaxation time. Which then stresses me out because I hear so much from other people that go married and how much they had to do and they were running around trying to finish things. I guess I’ll just take my blessing in disguise and not complain.

So, funny story. I like to check our registries to see what’s been bought and what hasn’t and all that jazz. I have another shower next weekend so things are starting to get bought up and we’re getting excited. Who knew luggage and a particular rolling pin I wanted would make me so happy?

But then I get to the bottom of one registry and I’m confused. There sits TWO waffle makers. TWO. Guess what? We didn’t register for ANY waffle maker. We don’t need, or even particularly want, a waffle maker.

Why TWO?

They aren’t cheap ones. They’re actually rather pricey. But we didn’t ask for them. So this means someone got our registry from the store, decided they didn’t like our choices, went and bought two of these things and then had the cashier scan the registry so they showed up. Wants: 0. Received:2.

Did this happen to anyone else? I don’t know whether to be hurt because this person had the nerve to decide our choices weren’t good enough or if the person just sincerely thought this was a good idea for us and wanted to make sure we had two.

—I apologize if this was someone else’s favorite gift from their wedding, but it’s not what we want because we don’t really eat or make waffles and these things are HUGE. Our future apartment will not be a sprawling, spacious place. It will probably be somewhat tiny and we won’t have the room.

I know we can return them, but it’s still weird.

Oh well. I might find out who got them for us at the shower and I will feign happiness and surprise and talk about how now I won’t have to wait to make one at a time.

PS- I was watching Father of the Bride and almost cried at the part where he misses his daughter throwing the bouquet and doesn’t get to say goodbye before she leaves for her honeymoon. So sad.

Off to convince the “sick” fiance that he will live and it’s only a cough. Men are a little wimpy when sick.

6 Comments

Filed under wedding

6 responses to “Why does anyone need 2??

  1. Oh don’t even get me started on registry stuff! I originally registered at Target. THEY SUCK. I registered for a blender. I ended up with 3, and they would not take back one of them because my guests had “the wrong receipt.” I cannot remember what happened with the other one now, I just remember I was PISSED, and deleted all of my stuff from Target. Now, I only go with firm 100% return policies. Hopefully you have a good return/exchange policy.

  2. Yes, we definitely got things we did not register for.

    Ice cream maker, anyone?

    I freaking hate appliances with very rare exception (toaster oven, blender), believing they take up a lot more space than they are worth for their rare use. So no, I did not register for more than like, 2 appliances. And received something like 6. I guess people thought I was wrong in thinking I would never need both a regular toaster and a toaster oven? WRONG. We took that sh!t back!

    As long as the things you are receiving are from a store you registered at, you are golden. For high school graduation I did not receive cash. I received Bibles. LOTS of Bibles. And devotional books for “how to maintain your relationship with Christ during college.” There was no gift receipt, nowhere to return. But if you ever need a Bible, I’m your girl.

  3. First of all, Father of the Bride makes me cry EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. Saddest (in a good way) movie ever.

    Second, people will get you stuff you didn’t register for. It’s like, a LAW of nature or something. (We have this blue dish with gold zebra stripes that a family friend gave us, and my husband HATES it.) I just try to think of it like this… They saw something that made them think of you, or they own something that they LOVE and think everyone should own, and they gave it to you out of love. So you smile and thank them and secretly laugh at what craziness they sent you… and then you can turn around and return whatever you don’t want/don’t need/can’t use.

    Or you can keep the really crazy stuff to bring out when you want people to laugh. (I got a little statue that looks like a pig has been made out of a potato. Yes, it’s weird. But hilarious. Everyone gets a kick out of it.)

  4. “I just try to think of it like this… They saw something that made them think of you, or they own something that they LOVE and think everyone should own, and they gave it to you out of love. So you smile and thank them and secretly laugh at what craziness they sent you… and then you can turn around and return whatever you don’t want/don’t need/can’t use.”

    This is exactly what I was going to say. Also, try to keep in mind that registries weren’t really invented as comprehensive lists of gifts you’re willing to accept. They’re supposed to help guide guests who really don’t have a clue about what they should buy.

    And YAY!!! for having less than a month to go!

  5. Don’t even worry about it! I think it’s quite rude when someone buys something not on the registry – and even more so when someone bought it when there’s another one on the list! Silly people.

  6. I want to give one as a gift to the wedding I’m going to next weekend. Is that rude? I mean…they aren’t cheap…we just dont need them. Also, this friend didn’t register anywhere and is isn’t offering any ideas, so yeah.

Leave a Reply

