Oh to be in college still….

Oh, this anonymity thing is already difficult! How does lawschoolwife do it?

All I want to do is scream and shout about my alma mater and their truly amazing showing in the NCAA championship today!!!!!!! Well, I guess that narrows it down, but I can’t help myself. Go us!!!

All my still-in-college friends get to go out tonight, celebrate our victory, kick off spring break early and have fun. i still have to go to bed early. and no spring break next week. I’m not used to this being an adult thing yet.

Also, the weather is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l today. gorgeous. all i wanted to do was take a book outside and read. oh, spring, how I have missed you.

My mood is just through the roof today. We had testing the first 3 hours of the day (just nice because it was quiet and my students worked hard). So, as a reward, I took my group outside for like 20 minutes to enjoy the weather and stretch after working hard. I don’t know if I am still naive, but I was the ONLY teacher to do this. All our kids worked hard, and instead of giving them a short break before starting back into class and working, the other teachers went straight from the test to teaching.

These kids need a break and need to know WE know they are working hard. THEY are the ones who (unfortunately) hold funding based on NCLB in their hands. Let’s reward them and show them how important they are.

It was 20 minutes and when I saw those kids in the hall later, I could tell they were in a better mood and were grateful.

I try. Also, i wanted some fresh air. It’s a win-win.

Something I do not look forward to-teacher drama. They need to realize we are all working, while everyone may not see eye to eye, no need to get all ticked off and send e-mails.

Oh well. I went outside. Enjoyed the sunshine. Hung out with my students and showed them that teachers can be fun too. I think I earned some new respect.

Isn’t it what it’s all about anyways??

I hope you all have a fantastic day and get some sunshine (if it’s sunny where you are.)

New Teacher. New Wife.

—-All I want is to say is GO “ALMA MATER”!!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Oh to be in college still….

  1. I’m sorry I’m just now getting caught up with the new blog! I love it! My mom was a teacher, so I get it as much as a non-teacher can.

    You are too cute to think I’m still anonymous! Pish, posh. My new rule (once I was outed and had to own it) is to not type the words I don’t want to be Google searched by into my blog, so the Google bots don’t pull up my city name, my school name, our last name, etc. It’s out there and it’s not a secret, but it *shouldn’t* pop up in a search unless you know what you are looking for. You know where the slippery slope of giving up my privacy started and I began letting more and more slip because I was just.so.freaking.excited? COLLEGE FOOTBALL season. I could not keep my big trap shut when my beloved Longhorns went to the freaking national championship. Anyway. I do sometimes wish I were still anonymous so I could say a little more, especially since seriously everyone in my husband’s law school reads now, but then I wouldn’t get to post so many pictures. And I’m a picture whore. What can I say?

    Anyways, I think you’re doing the right thing being relatively anonymous. It’s for the best!

    • helenalynn

      Lawschoolwife why are you private now? You were one of the few blogs I read religiously (you too ne teacher new wife!)

      I need my fix please!

  2. I could read a book about this without finding such real-world apropaches!

  3. I’m shocked that I found this info so easily.

Leave a Reply

