Not a man to count on

So, you know the saysing, “The only man a girl can trust is her daddy?”

Yeah. That person wasn’t planning a wedding when they said that. And if they started planning a wedding after this statement, they soon regretted it’s popularity.

I have asked my dad to do ONE thing for the wedding. (Other than pay, but that was split between the parents so I wasn’t involved in that discussion)

98% of our guests will be from out of town, so I wanted us to get some blocks of rooms at a couple different hotels and send the info with the invitation so the guests wouldn’t have to guess which hotels were in a good area/close to the venue/right price/ etc. I asked my dad to help with this is OCTOBER. Yeah, a whole 8 months before the wedding. As time got closer, my mom and I have asked him to work on it  because invitations need to go out soon and we need time to get the info together and so forth. We even asked if he was too busy and wanted us to do it. “Nope. I will take care of it.”

Well, here we are. Invitations are supposed to go out in like 4 days and we have NO HOTELS.

None. Nada. Zilch. Not One.

All because he promised me he would do it. Promised his only daughter (and ONLY child that is actually blood related to him). PROMISED.

Isn’t a girl supposed to be able to take their father at face value when they promise something????

Well, apparently not.

Apprently, in the 21st century, along with students telling their teachers to F*** Off, promises made by a father to his daughter no longer matter.

I’m about to explode. And cry. And cancel everything.

Well, not cancel, but I would like to run away.

Now, you readers may think I’m being melodramatic. Which I probably am, but you also don’t understand the relationship my divorced parents had. They got divorced when I was 6, but remained friends. And when I say remained friends, I mean still had keys/garage door openers to each others houses, talked everyday on the phone (granted, usually about my brother or me), basically got along, just couldn’t be married to each other. I switched houses every week, they got along. Heck, they didn’t even get a lawyer when they divorced. They figured out child support ON THEIR OWN! I know, completely unrealistic for 99% of divorced couples, but I lived like my parents weren’t divorced. They just lived in separate houses and married other people.

So for them to be fighting and my mom telling me on an almost daily basis that after this wedding, she never wants to talk to him again, it throws me into a bit of a panic.

I mean, at 23, this is the first time I have ever been put in the middle. I don’t know how to handle this. I want to please both sides, but can’t. It’s unnerving.

I feel like a 23 year old toddler- one who can’t decide which parent to go to.

I’m furious with my father and completely disappointed, but I also can’t imagine my mom and dad not talking. My mom has done practically EVERYTHING for the wedding since I am out of state, so I feel like I have to side with her, but since my dad is paying half, I don’t feel like I can upset him. (like, there are 5 people from his side we STILL don’t have addresses for, despite the 10 e-mails asking for them, so Mom is ready to sen the invites without the addresses and say screw those people.) I don’t care if they come, but he might.

I think a bubble bath and a giant bottle of wine are needed.

Oh wait, I have to teach tomorrow and get up at 5:30am. I guess it’s just the bubble bath. Damnit.

-New Teacher. New Wife.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

