Accessorize Me!

I am not the most stylish person ever. I know this.

I don’t think I typically am the worst dressed, but I really have a hard time accessorizing outfits. I can find a dress or an outfit that is cute and looks good, but I never know how to put jewelry or shoes with it.

As some of you might know, Mr. A’s best friend is getting married next month. He was the best man in our wedding and is like a brother to me.

A couple weeks ago, we met up with him for dinner and of course, the wedding came up. His family has quite a bit of money and I know that his older sister’s wedding was black tie and a VERY formal affair. I asked about the wedding and it turns out that they wanted to put “black tie” on the invitations, but her parents didn’t think that was a good idea. (Why, I have no idea since this is going to be a big and very nice wedding.)

As soon as he said that, I knew I needed a dress. I had one that I thought I would wear, but it just didn’t seem nice enough. I originally went shopping with the intent of finding a long dress, but all of them looked like prom dresses or entirely too casual maxi dresses. So instead I went with a nice shorter dress that falls right below my knees.

dress-full

It looks really nice on and I thought with the right accessories, I could make it fancy enough.

dress-close

This is the top of it. I love the ruffles around the neck and think it adds a fun detail.

So, this is where all of YOU come in!

I need some help. Remember, a fancy wedding at night. Also, Mr. A will be in a tux, so I need to look okay next to him.

I have some nice black peep-toe heels that I think I am going to wear. (I’d show a picture, but I left them at my mom’s so will need to pick them up from her.) I wore them when I was in a wedding as a bridesmaid and I think they will be perfect with the dress.

But I don’t know what to do for jewelry. I am considering hair styles along these lines:

braided side  OR hair pinned OR one of these

 

hair multi

Unless, you think this concept wouldn’t look good with the dress? I thought since it is all ruffly around the neck, it would be good to have the hair up and I really like the low and to the side pinned buns. Also, I am getting my hair done at 11am. Wedding isn’t until 5pm and reception at 7pm. I need the hair to last ALL DAY on a hot June day. I have pretty thick hair and I know having it curled and down just won’t last more than an hour.

So that’s the hair question.

Now, for jewelry.

It is kind of low, but it isn’t ridiculous and the ruffles hide some of it.

I was thinking, with the hair style in mind, of doing big dangly earrings, skipping a necklace, but then doing a bracelet.

Yes? No?

And if so, what should the earrings/bracelet look like? Sparkly? Pearls? Black?

SEE?? I am helpless when it comes to this type of stuff. Not a clue.

So please. Help me.

And if my ideas suck, tell me, but then give me other ideas. And if you find pictures, feel free to e-mail them to me at newteacherwife@gmail.com because I need some serious help here! I can’t show up looking ridiculous when my husband will be looking sharp in a tux!

5 Comments

Filed under A little More About Me, Pictures, What to do?

5 responses to “Accessorize Me!

  1. I’m going to try to find pictures of earrings to send you, but I think a very pretty vintage chandelier earring would be perfect, along with a few simple bracelets. When in doubt, go for less. It’s way more elegant.

    Also, I’d suggest a patent peep toe instead of an evening shoe. Sometimes I think evening shoes look too matchy-matchy, and even though it’s a formal affair, I think black patent dresses everything up.

    Good luck, and don’t worry, you’ll look great!

  2. I’m so bad about this kind of thing too! I love the dress though and I think your hair style idea would match it really well. I would go with the fun shoes, big sparkly earrings (not sure which kind though) and a bracelet with a fun purse. I think you’ll be gorgeous!

  3. I wish I could help – I’m not much better with accessorizing! =/

  4. Really cute dress and I love the hair styles that incorporate the braids into the updos. Very classic and chic. We want pics of the big night out!

Leave a Reply

